Home > bla bla bla > A look back to 2013

A look back to 2013


In the 1st of Jan 2013, I published this article to plan for 2013 http://autodiscover.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/what-i-plan-to-do-in-2013/, these were high-level activities to guide me through 2013, I listed the below activities (I will strikethrough what I have done):

- Lose some weight, at least 10 Kg, aiming for 15 or 20 Kg. < Started, and lost some weight but I don’t know how much I lost 22 Kgs so far.

- Gain some muscle back. < Started

- pushing my wife into the decoration BA.

On Career:

- MBA – But I don’t think I will go for it this year, maybe in 2014.

- Complete the CCEE < Will book the Exam Next Month

- Go for the CCIA.

- Go through ITIL certificate (as long as my company will put me into the ITIL training).

- Go for the TOGAF certificate. < Started but the Study guide is the most boring thing ever

- Complete MCSE Certificate (Private Cloud, Exchange 2013 and Lync 2013).

- Go through the CCIE Data Center Video training, I won’t go for the exam, at least this year.

- Go Through the Cisco UCS training. Will start this one today, but I am so lazy to go to the garage to bring my headset.

- Complete the Exchange 2013 Arabic Training video series.

- Complete Office 365 lab, maybe doing Arabic videos as well.

- Publish another book. Working with PackT on the new title.

- keep the MVP and BExpert certificates. I am thinking about changing my MVP track, not sure. I also attained VMware’s vExpert award

- Complete the documentation automation script, the one we use at the work.

- Auh, complete the 3PAR training I didn’t finish it in 2012.

I believe I did good, maybe I missed some career objectives, but I completed others, like learning VNX, vCloud Director ; vCloud Orchestrator and upgrading my Netscaler/XenDesktop and Windows 2012R2 skills

Tomorrow I will layout 2014 Objectives Smile.

Categories: bla bla bla Tags: ,
  1. Abdelmonem
    December 29, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Congratulations,
    i think you did a good job, especially in the physical part :D

    what about reviewing the previous earned certificates ?
    how do you estimate the required time to complete an objective?
    I always go with many resources ( books, videos,…) for one objective; that one resources will cover what the other didn’t , info strength, and how i can determine which resource is best for me?
    Is the Exchange 2013 Arabic Training video series will be available for the public?

    greetings,

    • December 31, 2013 at 8:03 am

      Thanks Abdo,
      I think that older certificates should be gone, leaping toward more advanced career requires a hall set of advanced and new skills, I don’t think that MCITP will do the magic.

      for the time required, I don’t estimate, I keep reading and jumping from one topic to the other, take for example the vCloud director, when I started it I was focusing on vCloud director, then I had to work on Orchestrator then to complete the job I had to learn Jscripting. so I start with something and keep moving.

      and I read whatever I can, books and videos are ok, but sometimes videos are boring for me, I need something fast.

      for the Exchange 2013 arabic videos, I don’t think I will publish them, I believe that we should stop how tos and focus on advancing the community, a punch of how to install videos won’t help.

  2. Abdelmonem
    December 31, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks Mahmoud,

    I meant with certificates, the ones for example you’ve earned the previous year ( for example VMware ) and this year you’re going with another one ( Citrix for example ) and i think it’s rarely when you use all what you’ve learned so i need to review.

    The previous week I’ve finished watching the exchange 2010 5 ignite videos you’ve published. and i hoped that the new series would be in the same level. also i need to learn how things work inside exchange together more than how tos. also the Arabic courses covers EX13 are nearly zero. and the English courses I’ve watched till now i think it’s more how-tos stuff.

    Regards,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 740 other followers

