Home > Uncategorized > The definite solution for Hotmail error “your account has been blocked” #hotmail #microsoft #msn

The definite solution for Hotmail error “your account has been blocked” #hotmail #microsoft #msn


Last Thursday I tried to login to my Hotmail account, I logged in but I got the famous error message “your account has been blocked”, the error indicated that my account has been used to send spam email and Hotmail team decided to block my account.

I was so shocked as I am using a very solid and complex password and I am so fanatic when it comes to my own security.

I tried to recover the account using the available method by sending the verification code to my alternate email account, I got the code successfully on my alternate email account, verified my account but when I login I get the same error.

I searched on the internet and found that I must go through the recovery process, same as forgotten password, I tried but that didn’t work although I passed the process successfully by sending the password recovery link to my alternate account.

the last resort was to shoot an email on the MVP private DL asking for the help, and I didn’t get disappointed as I got the instructions that helped me to recover my account from “David Bjurman-Birr – MCA Sn. Program Manager” so all of the credit goes to him.

to restore your account, and from what I understood from his email and my experience that it looks that account verification using the code will not work with most of the cases it might work but this will not work with most of the users, additionally the code must be sent using a carrier that is located in the US so you cannot use this method if you are located outside the US.

To recover your account, you have to go through the account recover process “as if you lost the password” but don’t use the answer the security question method or send recovery link, you will need to use the customer support method:

image

in the above screen you will have to use the “reset your password method” , then enter your email and the verification code that you will get then you will get the following screen:

image

once you get the above screen, don’t use the email me a reset link, or answer the security question, you MUST go to the customer support option.

when you choose the customer support option you will get a form that asks you for the blocked email account and to enter an additional email account where the reset link will be sent. enter your blocked hotmail account and another valid email to get the reset link on it and clock next.

in the next form you will get a lengthy form that asks you a lot of questions that validate your ownership of the account, before answering the form get prepared by reading more information below:

——-

<snip>

Please note that this flow asks for a lot of detailed information so that even if a hacker has changed the password, alternate email address, information to validate your family member as the account owner. For example: ISP, IP addresses for each computer that has been used to access the account, date/time of last successful log-in, folder names, contact names, mail subjects, etc. will help Support establish your friend as the account owner.

Here is some helpful information that may help you and your friend:

We take account security seriously and passing the validation process can be difficult but agents have to be very strict in the information they accept. They cannot tell you which items you may have answered correctly or missed, they only respond with a pass or fail. This is done to prevent hackers from using support to socially engineer their way into access.

The secret to passing the validation process is to provide as much information as possible. For questions that have multiple answers, like names of Hotmail folders, Hotmail and Messenger contacts, subjects of old e-mails, etc. provide 3 to 5 answers instead of 1. If the postal code could be one of 2 or 3, provide all of them. Provide precise information. Don’t say you have Facebook e-mail give the exact text ‘Facebook Notification – Friend request from John Doe.’ The more information and the more accurate you are with it the more likely you are to pass validation.

If the account has been hacked and information changed then agents validate the account based on the information associated with the account prior to the compromise so customers should use the information they believe they had associated with the account even if they know it has been changed.

Finally, if an agents responds that validation failed then add more information to the existing thread instead of creating a new one, this will allow agents to aggregate the provided data, which they can’t do across multiple threads.

</snip>

you will be asked about your first name, last name, ZIP or postal address, country and city, additionaly you will be asked to provide 5 folders names that you created inside your account, and enter the subject of 5 emails you recently sent, and 5 contacts you recently contacted and Xbox purchase information if you used your hotmail account in Xbox purchases.

please note that answering the form accurately and correctly is very essential to successfully unblock your account otherwise you will be able to do it.

once customer support receive your request, they will validate it and if it is correctly answered you will receive a link to reset your password, enter a new password and once done login and your account will be activated again…..

again, this is what have worked for me, please note that this might not work with you for various reasons, and if something worked with you please share it here for the benefit of the community.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. john
    March 29, 2012 at 8:33 am | #1

    i have the same problem but in addition to the above you forgot to mention that they also ask for all passwords used!!!!!!!! This smells of fraud to me. Hotmail never ask for passwords!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Jo
    April 2, 2012 at 4:18 pm | #2

    Hi – can you please let me know how long it took in between you completing the questionnaire to get a reply with the link as I have done the above and not heard anything back (last thursday)

  3. rojay
    April 9, 2012 at 8:49 am | #4

    DUDE, YOURE THE BEST! IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Sonia
    April 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm | #5

    You are amazing!!! I am in your gratitude. I was panicking like crazy all day at work. I felt like a criminal. Hotmail, there must be a better way!!!

  5. Padams
    May 10, 2012 at 1:49 am | #6

    I’ve been waiting for days for Microsoft Answers to get back in touch but this worked within the hour. Thank you so much!

  6. May 10, 2012 at 1:25 pm | #7

    I am so glad that this post helped you all, have a nice day

    • Neal
      June 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm | #8

      How long can I get replay from Microsoft, I have been waited for 24 hours.

  7. claire
    May 22, 2012 at 3:13 am | #9

    how are you supposed to remember your emails and what if you didnt create folders and dont have an xbox account

    • May 22, 2012 at 7:34 am | #10

      you should do your best, otherwise you won’t be able to recover your account

      • Will
        September 30, 2013 at 9:59 pm | #11

        There must be a way, if there’s no way you can get enough information on the questionnaire, Microsoft shouldn’t make it impossible after that stage surely?

  8. selena gomiz
    May 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm | #12

    hi please help me i have a problem from living comment because i can not right a comment allways when i right a comment it told me public comments blocked what i suppose to do pleas help me and thnx.

  9. Rasha
    June 7, 2012 at 8:57 am | #13

    what should i do to recover my blocked hotmail account if i can’t access the alternative mail????

    • September 3, 2012 at 2:50 pm | #14

      Apparently you won’t be able to do anything.

  10. selena gomiz
    June 8, 2012 at 3:37 pm | #15

    please i want answer please

  11. Maria Elena Montalba
    June 26, 2012 at 12:01 am | #16

    Thank you !!

  12. lucy
    June 29, 2012 at 6:28 pm | #18

    Worked like a charm!! Response in 3 minutes!!! THANK YO SOMUCH!!

  13. July 10, 2012 at 7:29 pm | #21

    Really happy that i was able to help you

  14. sara
    July 10, 2012 at 8:47 pm | #22

    Can you help me? I have been blocked and when I ask it to send e the code the email address it has is nearly my MSN address but with a . missing so I can’t get any further….any ideas?

  15. Chan
    July 13, 2012 at 9:17 am | #24

    Thank you, it worked. I almost gave up previously. Thanks for taking the time to write this!

  16. July 19, 2012 at 2:24 pm | #25

    i done it for more than 10 times. and am about to give up. They’ve given me the link to reset my password yet i cannot have access to my account. am about to give up my hotmail account

  17. Carlos
    July 22, 2012 at 1:17 am | #26

    I am trying to reach people in Colombia and all the Hotmail adress try, bounce back. Do you know why?

  18. August 17, 2012 at 1:32 am | #27

    I filled it out as much as possible. I got an instant response sayin I verified my account but it is still blocked.

  19. Napogma
    August 22, 2012 at 3:17 am | #29

    I have filled the questionnaire and below is the email i got from them. I sent it on the 15th of August & still waiting. In the meantime I have tried following your steps as well except I don’t get the CUSTOMER SUPPORT option. I am in the UK if that makes any difference. Is there another way because I have read every possible advice yet not solution that works for me. I did not also give my address but filled in as much info as I could.

    “Once we have reviewed the answers you submitted we will update you on the status of your request at this email address. If we can verify that you are the account owner you will receive a link to reset your password.

    Please note that due to high volumes, it may take 5 to 7 days for us to review the information you submitted. Issues are being processed in the order in which they were received.

    We apologize for the inconvenience, and we will respond as soon as possible to your request.

    Thank you,
    Microsoft Support Team”

    • August 22, 2012 at 10:47 am | #30

      can you re-fill it again, I think if they didn’t respond that means that they didn’t approve it.

  20. August 29, 2012 at 1:43 pm | #31

    I did all this. Within 11 days I got the email today and they could not verify my account and in all honesty this is ridiculous considering the only reason I have this email is for Xbox live. The only info I could enter that I knew was correct were passwords and xbox live info BUT apparently that wasn’t enough. I technically pay for this email because of xbox live. I want my damn account back and not have to lose freaking 7years of my life I devoted to games because of a damn email. This needs to be more professional on their part and not some stupid form where it can become a guessing game to the ACTUAL owner..There has to be another form of action I can take considering the money I pay for xbox live which I wouldn’t have if it weren’t for this email.

    • August 29, 2012 at 1:57 pm | #32

      Unfortunately and AFAIK there is no other ways, people pay money but this is also a safeguard for all of those who might lose their emails because of social engineering.

      So try again and wish you best of luck.

  21. Clinton D. Koster
    September 3, 2012 at 2:46 pm | #33

    I lost my personal hotmail account yesterday.
    After the rage I settled down and went through most of the process you suggest for recovery.
    I supplied as many of my folder titles as I could remember and submitted them with other personal information.
    I got an email back saying I would hear something in 7-10 days.
    I mentioned this to friends today and one of them told me he was helping another friend through this same process and he says they were turned down 3 times and now all information is irritriveable.
    Seems you have 3 chances to give them the information they want then you loose the information and the account for ever.
    Seems “they” don’t care how many people are crushed by this action.

    • September 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm | #34

      I hope to hear soon from you that you were able to recover your mailbox

    • Jen Hryniuk
      September 9, 2012 at 9:42 pm | #35

      wow – I hope that does not happen in my case as all my contacts & emails are with hotmail.

  22. A Fuller
    September 5, 2012 at 10:06 am | #36

    Help! I am having the same problem. Have been locked out of my Hotmail account for 18 days. Haven sent back the “form” and have not been confirmed or denied yet. How long should this take?

  23. Roddy
    September 7, 2012 at 8:26 pm | #37

    I’m in the UK and I have had the same problem with hotmail for three weeks. They keep sending me a code and nothing seems to work.

    can anyone point me in the direction of how I can reslove this from The UK?

  24. Jen Hryniuk
    September 9, 2012 at 9:38 pm | #38

    my hotmail account has been hacked & I spoke to someone that had a chat with operator box pop up & they asked me for my answer to a question they said was my security question which I do not believe I would have used & I could not asnwer this question – so this person told me without this answered I will have to pay a $90.00 fee to get my Hotmail account re-activated to me by them & this will give me full security options that will be monitored for my protection???? Hmmmm this sounds very suspicious to me, if anyone can help me with this please do,
    PS.
    when I try to log into my Hotmail accout it says (it appears someone else is using your account)

  25. j
    September 10, 2012 at 3:52 am | #39

    Yeah, this isn’t working. My account is still blocked

  26. Erin Bouma
    September 15, 2012 at 10:59 pm | #40

    I’ve was blocked in mid-August and have submitted my full, accurate information 6 times (a couple of misspellings on other’s e-mail addresses I admit) now in over a month. August must have been very busy for I had to wait 8-9 days for a rejection response twice. Unexpectedly, last week I was sent a detailed survey by HOTMAIL of my “recovery” experience and I gave a detailed but respectful account of my trials.
    After three rejections they ask you to open a new account. But i found that even more frustrating as they rejected every name I proposed (around 30). For the first time today in two weeks I tried once again to open a new account but again, every variation was rejected.
    I don’t want to give up this account (as I told Microsoft) because I like the interface very much and I have many addresses listed there (including about a dozen subscriptions) that I might not be able to recover any other way. I really can’t understand how tight their settings are. And after 4 attempts, I proposed they should offer an agent one could speak to.
    One friend (here in Moscow) even proposed I hire a HACKER to break into it, but that’s only my last resort.
    Any suggestions?

    • September 16, 2012 at 8:08 am | #41

      somehow a lot of people are not able to verify their accounts, to be honest I split my information and contacts across hotmail, outlook and gmail, it is hard yes, but putting everything in one account where I mightn’t able to recover for the rest of my life is a scary idea.

  27. adnane
    October 26, 2012 at 10:26 pm | #42

    doesn’t work, the characters ain’t no validate, it said that the MSN adress in incorrect, plzzz help with that, coz it blocked my facebook account too, can someone help with that plzz and thx a lot

  28. November 25, 2012 at 7:26 pm | #43

    Ihave had the same message….it looks like someone is using your account. I have submitted the form 3 times with information they ask for, i can give no more detail to them.. I asked friends for email subjects of recent emails but, no, they have just informed i have failed and to open a new account…..so so cross. I need my folders from this email..Does anyone know if i can ever get my folders back or have they gone for good????????

    • November 29, 2012 at 8:15 am | #44

      yes, the bad news if you can’t recover your account you will not be able to get access to emails, sorry.

  29. Veronica
    November 29, 2012 at 12:27 am | #45

    Please help me, I have done eveything you say but I dont see where i can add de ISP number of my computer, nor the facebook info you mention. I have entrered all the info I can recall. But microsoft keeps rejecting me! I dont understand why!! They have changed my contact info so I can not reques a code! PLEASE HELP!!!!!

    • November 29, 2012 at 8:14 am | #46

      you will not be able to do anything if Microsoft rejected you, sorry!!!

  30. December 17, 2012 at 9:57 am | #47

    Hey all,

    I went to microsoft answers and have been waiting for 3 weeks to get help for my blocked account error outlook 42. Even chatted with help online with a rep who told me it was because I should of used an alternative hotmail email account to have them respond to me with. Which didn’t make sense to me.

    I followed the process on this website, and entered in as much information in as possible, and I recieved an email to my alternative yahoo account, that said congratulations. It took less than 5 mins. I only used the account really for one thing, and it wasn’t my main account, so the information I entered I believe was detailed.
    But alas, after I clicked the link to update my password, and made sure the security info listed was mine, like my cell phone, it still didn’t work.

    So for some of us, it works and others it doesn’t

    My observations. The hotmail portion of my account is blocked, yet I can log into my “hotmail” account and update and change the personal info, which doesn’t make sense.

    This tells me there is something else going on, because I have access to my personal info, and could add a credit card on file if I needed to, I can access the calendar, I can add a photo to my profile if I wanted to, but yet the email is blocked.

    Maybe its just me, but doesn’t it make sense to allow access to private info that can be updated and changed, yet block access to my actual emails? who needs emails if you grant access to private data that can be viewed and changed(it is me, and my account, I am just trying to prove a point).

    But again, I went through the steps to verify my account, and gave all the detailed info like folders I started, etc. Someone is not doing their job well at MS/Hotmail/Outlook. I never had a problem like this before.

    What is odd, I had access for about 2 hours a couple weeks ago, and then it was blocked again.

    Here is a story done by a reporter on the hotmail issues earlier this year.

    I actually contacted her and she responded, I was hoping she could do another report on this issue, because something else is going on. If other people contact her regarding their issues, maybe MS, will listen to her regarding all of our complaints. Good luck all, I am still waiting, going on 4 weeks, starting tomorrow Monday.

  31. December 18, 2012 at 2:48 pm | #48

    So, I got a response from MS support last night……… Below is what I received, going on 4 weeks, and just from the response I received, you can’t help but think there is a Bigger issue going on, than just passwords not working, and accounts not being able to be accessed. I am not in the IT industry, but this must be a design issue…big time! “Higher Support” Must mean longer wait time. I am happy they are working on it, but it gets to the point of ridiculous.

    MS response:

    Subject: **********
    From: Escalation Agent

    Hi,

    We would like to apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you. We have checked on your account and found out that your issue has been escalated to a higher support. Please refer to your original post below for future updates regarding your issue:

    answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windowslive/forum/hotmail-email/outlook-42-it-looks-like-this-inbox-has-been/1779ed38-a012-4945-83cd-51a2abf625a7

    This will help us keep track on your account while we are working to resolve the issue for you. We would highly appreciate your patience regarding this matter.

    Thanks!

  32. anolduser
    January 29, 2013 at 6:57 am | #49

    there is something awry , the loop process of access to hotmail/ outlook is repetitive, you send for code, receive, and it says code already used, you continue, and it revokes new code, not making sense, repeat recycle revoke, the correct email, and password, but same denied error and countless codes appear to be used before being used,

    Dear Bill Gates, someone in your cooperation is playing games with customers, there are even personnel asking and answering their own FAQ’s as posts for help, that is illegitimate abuse,

  33. Urooj
    April 16, 2013 at 11:57 am | #50

    i dont know code number!!
    what happened ID How do you want to receive your security code?
    AND
    my id unblock 12 march 2013!!!

    and plz your try my id back soon !!!

    Check uu*****@hotmai.com for a message from the Microsoft account team and enter the security code here.

    https://account.live.com/security/Aci.aspx/A1 my profile mail

  34. Urooj
    April 16, 2013 at 12:00 pm | #51

    my unblock id!! plz help mein
    How do you want to receive your security code?

  35. brenda
    July 24, 2013 at 7:19 pm | #52

    I got the account validated.. but when i click on the link to change my password it gives me an error and tells me to keep trying..i am so frustrsted..

  36. Jane
    September 3, 2013 at 6:08 am | #53

    Same thing just happened to me in the UK. I lost my Hotmail email account I have had for ten years, with loads of important contacts, and just trying to get one of them to change my email address is a nightmare. I will never trust Microsoft again, and will never rely on a Hotmail account as my main email account. Those codes they send to alternative email addresses don’t work; they are taking the p*ss, and if they did work, why would some hacker have less advantage than me from using them?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 675 other followers

